Author: comparehousemovers.com

  • Exporting a Vehicle When You Move Abroad Permanently: DVLA’s Notification Process

    A car that is moving abroad with its owner needs its own piece of paperwork sorted with DVLA, separate from everything else on a moving checklist. Getting this wrong can leave a vehicle still registered as if it were in the UK, or delay a tax refund that is otherwise due.

    Permanent export is a specific process

    Official government guidance treats taking a vehicle out of the UK for 12 months or more as a permanent export, distinct from a shorter trip abroad. To notify DVLA of a permanent export, the registered keeper fills in the “notification of permanent export” section of the V5C registration certificate, which in Great Britain is the V5C/4 section, detaches it from the rest of the document, and sends that section to DVLA, Swansea, SA99 1BD. The remainder of the V5C has to be kept and taken with the vehicle, because it may be needed to register the car in the destination country.

    What happens to the tax

    Once DVLA has processed the permanent export notification, any vehicle tax refund due is calculated from the date DVLA actually receives that section, not from the date the vehicle physically left the UK, so a delay in posting the form pushes back the start point for the refund calculation. Official guidance states a refund is usually issued within four to six weeks of DVLA receiving the notification. If the keeper’s address has changed as part of the move, a letter with the new address needs to go to DVLA alongside the form, so any refund cheque is sent to the correct place rather than an address the mover has already left.

    Buying a car specifically to take abroad

    Where the move involves buying a vehicle in the UK specifically to export it, the seller needs to follow the correct process for a vehicle that will be registered in another country rather than simply handing over a standard V5C as if for a normal domestic sale. Getting this step wrong at the point of purchase creates the same registration problems further down the line as failing to notify a permanent export after buying the car in the ordinary way.

    Temporary trips are handled differently

    Government guidance draws a clear line at the 12-month mark: taking a vehicle out of the UK for less than 12 months is treated as a temporary export rather than a permanent one, and follows a different process from the permanent export notification described above. Anyone unsure whether a move abroad will turn out to be temporary or permanent should check which set of rules actually applies to their planned length of stay before assuming the permanent export form is the right one to use, since submitting the wrong notification can create complications with the vehicle’s UK registration status.

    What this means for a move abroad

    Because the permanent export section is physically part of the V5C, it needs to be dealt with before the rest of the document goes into a shipping container or gets handed to an overseas dealer, not treated as paperwork to sort out after arrival. Keeping the non-detached part of the V5C accessible during the move, rather than packed away with other household documents, avoids a situation where the vehicle arrives at its destination without the registration document needed to complete re-registration there.

    Common questions

    Can I submit the permanent export notification before I actually leave the UK? The process is triggered by completing and sending the notification section of the V5C, and the refund calculation runs from the date DVLA receives it, so there is no requirement to wait until after departure to post the form.

    What if I am only planning to be abroad for a few months and I am not sure it will become permanent? Government guidance treats anything under 12 months as a temporary export with its own separate process, so it is worth confirming the expected length of stay before submitting either form, since using the wrong one can create registration complications.

    Why does the rest of the V5C need to travel with the vehicle rather than being sent to DVLA too? Government guidance is explicit that the remaining part of the registration certificate should be kept and taken abroad because it may be needed to register the vehicle in the destination country, so only the permanent export section itself is detached and posted to DVLA.

    The bottom line

    Moving a vehicle abroad for 12 months or more is a permanent export in DVLA’s terms, notified by completing and sending the permanent export section of the V5C to DVLA in Swansea while retaining the rest of the document for use abroad. Any tax refund is calculated from the date DVLA receives that notification and is usually paid within four to six weeks, so posting it promptly, along with a new address if one applies, avoids unnecessary delay. A trip of less than 12 months follows a different, temporary-export process, so confirming which category actually applies before submitting anything avoids registration problems on both sides of the move.

    Sources

  • Right to Rent Checks When You Move Into a Rented Home in England

    Moving into a rented home in England involves more identity paperwork than moving into an owned property, because landlords are legally required to check who they are letting to before the tenancy starts. This is a distinct legal scheme from tenancy deposit protection or a standard reference check, and it does not apply in the same way everywhere in the UK.

    What the scheme actually requires

    Home Office guidance states plainly that landlords and letting agents must carry out right to rent checks on people before entering into a tenancy agreement with them, to make sure they are allowed to rent in the UK. The check has to happen before the tenancy starts, not after moving day, and it applies to each adult who will live in the property as their main home, not only the named tenant on the agreement. Carrying out the check correctly, in line with the Home Office code of practice, gives the landlord a “statutory excuse” against a civil penalty; a landlord who lets a property without carrying out the check as prescribed loses that excuse and becomes liable for a penalty if it later turns out the tenant did not have the right to rent.

    England only

    The Right to Rent scheme applies to residential tenancy agreements in England. It was first introduced for tenancies entered into on or after 1 December 2014 in a small pilot area covering Birmingham, Wolverhampton, Dudley, Sandwell and Walsall, before being extended to the rest of England for tenancies from 1 February 2016 onward. Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland do not operate the same landlord-check scheme, so a household moving within the UK from a devolved nation into an English tenancy will encounter this requirement for the first time, and a landlord letting property in England needs to apply it even to a tenant who has just moved from elsewhere in the UK.

    What this means for someone moving into a new tenancy

    In practice, a prospective tenant in England should expect to be asked for identity and immigration status documents, such as a passport, before signing an agreement or getting the keys, rather than after moving in, because the landlord needs to complete the check before the tenancy is granted to retain the statutory excuse. A tenant with a more complex immigration position may go through a digital check via the Home Office rather than presenting a physical document, but the underlying obligation on the landlord to check before granting the tenancy applies regardless of which route is used.

    The penalties that make landlords careful

    Civil penalties for letting to someone without the right to rent, where the landlord has not established a statutory excuse, currently run up to £10,000 per occupier for a first breach and up to £20,000 per occupier for a repeat breach, figures that were substantially increased from the previous lower levels. Where a landlord knowingly lets to someone without the right to rent, the matter can move beyond a civil penalty into criminal prosecution, carrying an unlimited fine or up to five years’ imprisonment. These figures explain why landlords letting in England are typically strict about completing the check before handing over keys, even for tenants who seem to present no obvious risk.

    Common questions

    Do I need to prove my right to rent again if I move to a new tenancy within England? Yes. The check is tied to each new tenancy agreement, so moving from one rented home to another in England means going through the process again with the new landlord or agent, even if a previous landlord already checked.

    What happens if a tenant’s permission to stay in the UK is time-limited? Where the right to rent is time-limited, the landlord is expected to carry out a follow-up check nearer the expiry date to maintain the statutory excuse, rather than relying on the original check indefinitely.

    Does the scheme apply to lodgers as well as tenants? The scheme covers people renting residential accommodation as their only or main home under a tenancy agreement, which has historically included lodgers in a landlord’s own home as well as tenants, so the same pre-tenancy check obligation applies.

    The bottom line

    Right to Rent checks are a legal requirement for private landlords letting residential property in England, running since 2014 in a pilot area and UK-wide across England from February 2016, and they exist to give the landlord a statutory excuse against a civil penalty rather than to screen tenants for any other purpose. The scheme does not operate in Scotland, Wales or Northern Ireland, so its relevance is specifically about where in the UK the tenancy is. Because civil penalties now run up to £10,000 per occupier for a first breach and £20,000 for a repeat one, with criminal liability possible where a landlord knowingly lets unlawfully, the check is usually completed strictly before a tenancy starts rather than treated as a formality to tidy up after moving day.

    Sources

  • Moving Into a New-Build Home: What Buildmark Cover Actually Includes

    Moving into a brand-new home removes some of the usual pre-move worries, such as an unknown boiler or a roof of uncertain age, but it introduces a different one: snagging. Most new-build buyers in the UK are covered by a structural warranty, and the largest provider of these is NHBC, whose Buildmark product is worth understanding before moving day rather than after the first defect appears.

    What Buildmark actually is

    Buildmark is NHBC’s warranty and insurance product for new-build homes, and it is built in layers rather than being a single flat guarantee. It starts with pre-completion protection: cover for builder insolvency before the home is finished, which NHBC describes as protecting the buyer if the builder becomes insolvent during the build. This is followed by a two-year builder warranty period, backed by NHBC’s own resolution service, during which the builder, not NHBC, is contractually responsible for correcting problems caused by a failure to meet NHBC’s technical requirements. After that two-year period ends, Buildmark moves into an insurance-backed phase, normally covering the remaining years up to a total of ten years from the policy start date, for physical damage to the home caused by a failure to build to NHBC’s requirements.

    Who deals with a defect, and when

    During the first two years, the builder is the first port of call for anything covered by the warranty, and NHBC guidance recommends reporting a defect as soon as reasonably possible, always within the builder warranty period, and keeping a record of the correspondence. NHBC’s resolution service only becomes available once the homeowner has reported the problem to the builder, allowed reasonable time for repairs, and completed the builder’s own complaints process through to a final written response; if that response is unsatisfactory, or no response arrives within 30 days, the homeowner can then ask NHBC to step in. Once the two-year builder period has passed, responsibility shifts to the insurance element of the policy, which responds to physical damage from a breach of NHBC’s build standards rather than every cosmetic snag, and typically carries a minimum claim value below which the policy does not respond.

    Cover limits

    Buildmark’s pre-completion protection is commonly set at 10% of the purchase price, up to a cap of £100,000, to cover the insolvency scenario before the home is finished. The main structural cover for a new house is typically arranged up to £1 million, with a lower figure of £500,000 commonly used for a converted property, though higher limits can be available depending on the specific policy arranged for a development.

    What this means for the move-in checklist

    Because the two-year builder warranty period is time-limited and NHBC’s own resolution service is only available after the builder’s complaints process has been followed through, it is worth treating the weeks around moving day as the start of that clock rather than an afterthought. A room-by-room check shortly after moving in, with anything found reported to the builder and kept on record rather than mentioned only informally, preserves the ability to use NHBC’s resolution service later if the builder does not act. It is also worth confirming which warranty provider is actually behind a specific new-build purchase, since NHBC is the largest provider but not the only one, and other providers structure their own two-stage builder-then-insurer cover differently.

    Common questions

    Does Buildmark cover cosmetic snags like paint marks or a sticking door? During the first two years these are the builder’s responsibility to fix under the warranty, but once that period ends the insurance-backed phase responds to physical damage from a breach of NHBC’s build standards rather than minor cosmetic issues, so timing matters for what can still be claimed.

    What if I move in and the builder has already gone out of business? NHBC’s resolution service can decline to help where circumstances make it unsuitable, such as builder insolvency, which is a different scenario from the pre-completion insolvency protection that applies before the home is finished.

    Is NHBC the only new-build warranty provider? No. NHBC is the largest provider of new-build warranties in the UK, but several other providers offer broadly similar two-stage builder-then-insurer cover, so it is worth checking the actual certificate for a specific purchase rather than assuming it is a Buildmark policy.

    The bottom line

    Buildmark cover moves through three stages: pre-completion insolvency protection, a two-year period in which the builder is directly responsible for fixing defects with NHBC’s resolution service available if they do not, and then an insurance-backed period running to ten years from the start date for physical damage caused by a breach of NHBC’s build standards. Reporting defects promptly and keeping a record during the two-year builder period, and confirming which warranty actually applies to a specific new-build purchase, both matter more in the weeks around moving in than at any later point.

    Sources

  • Moving Abroad With a Pet: The Animal Health Certificate and the Northern Ireland Difference

    Shipping the furniture is the easy part of an international move with a pet. The paperwork for the animal itself depends on exactly where it is travelling to, and Great Britain now uses two different documents depending on whether the destination is the EU or Northern Ireland.

    The Animal Health Certificate for EU travel

    A dog, cat or ferret travelling from Great Britain to an EU country needs an animal health certificate (AHC), which replaced the old EU pet passport for GB-issued travel. Official government guidance is explicit that the pet must be microchipped, vaccinated against rabies, and hold the correct travel document, and that residents of England, Scotland or Wales cannot use a pet passport to enter the EU even if it was originally issued in the EU. Before the AHC can be issued, the pet needs a microchip, and the rabies vaccination has to be at least 21 full days old by the time of travel, counted from the date of the primary vaccination. A vet issues the AHC, and it is valid for entry into the EU for 10 days from the date it is issued; once in the EU, the same certificate can then be used for onward travel within the EU, and for the return trip to Great Britain, for up to six months, provided the underlying rabies vaccination has not expired in the meantime. A new AHC is needed for every separate trip.

    Great Britain to Northern Ireland uses a different document

    Moving a pet from Great Britain into Northern Ireland does not use the AHC process at all. Since 4 June 2025, residents of Great Britain need a free Northern Ireland Pet Travel Document (PTD) to bring a dog, cat, ferret or assistance dog into Northern Ireland. Unlike the AHC, the PTD does not require a vet visit: it can be applied for entirely online, the pet still needs to be microchipped, and both the document and the microchip are checked at the port or airport. The key practical difference is that the PTD only needs to be obtained once and then lasts for the pet’s lifetime, rather than needing to be reissued before every trip the way an AHC does. Residents of Northern Ireland travelling the other way, into Great Britain, are exempt from needing a PTD and can travel with only a microchipped pet.

    Combining both documents on one move

    Anyone relocating via Northern Ireland but ultimately continuing on to the Republic of Ireland or another EU country needs both documents for the same trip: the PTD covers entry into Northern Ireland from Great Britain, but an AHC is still required for onward travel from Northern Ireland into the Republic of Ireland or elsewhere in the EU, since the PTD on its own does not satisfy EU entry requirements.

    What this means for planning the move

    Because the AHC has to be signed off by a vet within a short pre-travel window, and the rabies vaccination itself needs a minimum run-in period before that certificate can even be requested, pet paperwork for an EU move needs to be scheduled around the vaccination timeline rather than left until the final week before departure. The PTD route into Northern Ireland is comparatively low-friction, but it is a distinct legal requirement introduced only recently, and a mover who has previously taken a pet into Northern Ireland without one should not assume the old, document-free arrangement still applies.

    Common questions

    Can I get the Animal Health Certificate before I have a confirmed travel date? Not usefully. Because the AHC is only valid for 10 days from issue for entry into the EU, it has to be timed to the actual departure date rather than obtained well in advance the way a passport would be.

    Does the Northern Ireland Pet Travel Document expire? No, official guidance describes it as lasting the pet’s lifetime once issued, which is a deliberate difference from the trip-by-trip AHC.

    What if my pet’s rabies vaccination lapses while I am abroad in the EU? The guidance is clear that an AHC cannot be used for onward travel or re-entry to Great Britain if the underlying rabies vaccination has expired, so the renewal date needs to be tracked for the whole trip, not just the outbound leg.

    The bottom line

    A pet moving from Great Britain to an EU country needs a vet-issued animal health certificate, valid for 10 days for entry and up to six months for onward and return travel, built on a microchip and a rabies vaccination that must be at least 21 days old. A pet moving from Great Britain to Northern Ireland instead needs a free, one-off, lifetime Northern Ireland Pet Travel Document introduced from 4 June 2025, which requires no vet visit. A move that continues from Northern Ireland into the EU needs both documents, since neither one substitutes for the other.

    Sources

  • Council Tax on an Empty Home During a Move: How England, Wales and Scotland Premiums Differ

    A gap between selling one home and moving into the next, or a slow renovation before moving in, can trigger a council tax premium if the property sits empty long enough. The rules for when that premium kicks in, and how large it can get, are set separately in England, Wales and Scotland, and they have all changed in the last few years.

    England: a one-year trigger since April 2024

    The Levelling-up and Regeneration Act 2023 changed the threshold at which English councils can apply an empty-homes premium, reducing it from two years to one year of a property being unoccupied and substantially unfurnished. Official government guidance confirms this took effect from 1 April 2024. Under the current structure, councils can charge up to a 100% premium once a home has been empty for between one and five years, rising to up to 200% between five and ten years, and up to 300% once a property has been empty for more than ten years, with the exact percentage within those limits left to each council’s discretion. A property that becomes occupied or furnished for six weeks or less does not reset the empty-homes clock. Nine mandatory exception classes protect certain owners, including homes actively being marketed for sale or let for up to 12 months, homes within 12 months of a grant of probate, and properties undergoing major repair or structural work for up to 12 months, all of which are common situations during a move.

    Wales: discretionary, capped at 300% since 2023

    Wales runs its own framework under sections 12A and 12B of the Local Government Finance Act 1992, inserted by the Housing (Wales) Act 2014, which gives local authorities a discretionary power rather than a mandatory one. A long-term empty dwelling in Wales is one that has been unoccupied and substantially unfurnished for a continuous period of at least one year, with the same six-week furnishing-or-occupation exception used in England. Welsh authorities were first able to apply a premium of up to 100% from April 2017, and the maximum was raised to up to 300% from 1 April 2023. Because the power is discretionary, whether a premium applies, and at what rate within the cap, depends entirely on the individual council’s own policy.

    Scotland: a 12-month threshold with a renovation exception

    Scotland’s regime runs through the Local Government Finance (Unoccupied Properties etc.) (Scotland) Act 2012 and the Council Tax (Variation for Unoccupied Dwellings) (Scotland) Regulations 2013, which from 2013 allowed local authorities to charge an empty-homes premium of up to 100% once a property had been empty for 12 months. A 2023 change introduced a specific exception: the premium cannot be applied where a property has been empty for at least 12 months, has been bought by a new owner within the past six months, and is undergoing repairs or renovation intended to bring it back into use, which is directly relevant to a buyer who moves in only after completing works on a newly purchased empty home.

    Why this matters mid-move

    The most common trigger during an ordinary house move is not a long void period but bridging gaps: a completed purchase left empty while renovation work is finished, or a departing property left unoccupied and unfurnished while a sale drags on. Because all three nations now measure from around the one-year mark rather than two, a chain delay or a longer-than-planned renovation can bring a premium into play faster than movers might expect, and the specific exception that applies, if any, depends on which nation the property is in.

    Common questions

    Does the premium apply the moment a property is empty, or only after the full year? It applies once the property has been continuously unoccupied and substantially unfurnished for the full threshold period; a shorter void does not trigger it, though the standard empty-property discount rules that applied before these premiums still vary by council.

    Can moving furniture in briefly stop the clock? In England and Wales, occupation or furnishing for six weeks or less does not reset the long-term empty status, so a brief visit to drop off boxes will not avoid the premium once the underlying threshold has otherwise been met.

    Is there a national list of which councils charge the maximum rate? No single national list exists; because the power is discretionary in all three nations, the applicable rate has to be checked with the specific local authority for the property in question.

    The bottom line

    England, Wales and Scotland each run their own empty-homes council tax premium regime, and all three now use a one-year (or 12-month) threshold rather than the two years that applied previously. England’s stepped structure, in force from 1 April 2024, runs up to 300% for homes empty more than ten years, with several mandatory exceptions including active marketing and probate. Wales caps its discretionary premium at 300% since April 2023, applied council by council. Scotland caps its premium at 100%, with a 2023 exception protecting newly purchased properties under active renovation. Anyone leaving a property empty during a move should check which of these regimes and exceptions applies to their specific address and timeline.

    Sources

  • Moving Abroad From the UK: How GOV.UK Explains Tax Residence, Split-Year Treatment and Tax on UK Income

    Shipping is only one part of a move abroad

    People moving abroad from the UK often plan shipping, customs and visas well before they think about tax. This article summarises two GOV.UK guides published by HM Revenue and Customs (HMRC): “Tax on foreign income” (the section on UK residence and tax) and “Tax on your UK income if you live abroad”. The rules concern UK tax across the United Kingdom. This is a summary of official guidance, not tax advice, and the guides themselves point to the Statutory Residence Test guidance and professional help for individual cases. For the shipping side of a move, see Moving Abroad From the UK: How to Plan Shipping and Customs Research.

    Residence status decides what is taxed

    GOV.UK explains that a person’s UK residence status affects whether they pay UK tax on foreign income. Non-residents only pay tax on their UK income, and residents normally pay UK tax on all their income, whether from the UK or abroad. Status usually depends on the days spent in the UK in a tax year, which runs from 6 April to 5 April. A person is UK resident only if both of the following apply: they meet one or more of the automatic UK tests or the sufficient ties test, and they do not meet any of the automatic overseas tests.

    The tests as GOV.UK describes them

    • Automatic UK tests. These include spending 183 or more days in the UK in the tax year; having had the only home in the UK for 91 days or more in a row, and visiting or staying in it for at least 30 days of the year; and working full-time in the UK for any period of 365 days, at least one day of which is in the tax year being checked.
    • Sufficient ties test. A person who spends a number of days in the UK and has further ties to the UK, such as work or family, may be resident under this test.
    • Automatic overseas tests. A person is usually non-resident if they spent fewer than 16 days in the UK (or 46 days if they have not been a UK resident for the three previous tax years), or if they worked abroad full-time, averaging at least 35 hours a week, while spending fewer than 91 days in the UK, no more than 30 of which were spent working.

    GOV.UK offers a residence status checker that gives an indication of status for the current tax year or any of the previous six, and it says status can change from year to year, for example if a person spends more or less time in the UK, buys or sells a home in the UK, changes job, or if family members move in or out of the UK.

    Split-year treatment

    When a person moves in or out of the UK, GOV.UK says the tax year is usually split in two, into a non-resident part and a resident part, so UK tax on foreign income is based on the time living in the UK. This is called split-year treatment. The page says it is not available to someone who lives abroad for less than a full tax year before returning to the UK, and that other conditions apply. It points to HMRC guidance on split years under the Statutory Residence Test and says HMRC can be contacted to check which “case” applies for the Self Assessment return.

    Tax on UK income after leaving

    The second guide says that people usually have to pay tax on UK income even if they are not UK resident, with income including pensions, rental income, savings interest and wages. If the country of residence taxes the same income and has a double-taxation agreement with the UK, relief can be claimed in the UK to avoid being taxed twice. GOV.UK adds that people do not normally pay tax on selling an asset, apart from on UK property or land, and that non-residents do not usually pay UK tax on the State Pension or interest from UK government securities. For UK employment while living abroad, tax is calculated automatically on the days worked in the UK.

    Reporting to HMRC

    GOV.UK says a Self Assessment return is usually needed for someone living abroad who rents out UK property, works for themselves in the UK, has taxable savings interest from UK banks or building societies, has a pension outside the UK and was UK resident in one of the five previous tax years, or has other untaxed UK income. Non-residents cannot use HMRC’s online services to report income. They must send a return with an SA109 form by post, use commercial software that supports SA109 reporting, or have a tax professional report it. The guide warns of fines for missing the deadline and says the deadline is earlier for postal returns, 31 October.

    Capital gains

    The residence guide states that residence status for capital gains is worked out the same way as for income. Non-residents usually pay Capital Gains Tax only on UK property or land, or if they return to the UK.

    The bottom line

    GOV.UK ties UK tax residence to days spent in the UK and to a set of automatic and ties-based tests, applied tax year by tax year, with split-year treatment available in some cases when moving in or out of the UK. Leaving does not end UK tax on UK income, and non-residents with UK rental, self-employment, savings or other untaxed income usually have to file a Self Assessment return with an SA109 form, outside HMRC’s online services, with a 31 October deadline for postal returns. Because the tests turn on dates, the planned departure date and the days spent back in the UK are worth setting out before any removal date is fixed.

    Sources

  • Moving House While Claiming Benefits: What GOV.UK Says You Must Report and Who to Tell

    A move is a change of circumstances

    A change of address is usually filed under utilities and banks, but anyone who claims benefits has an additional obligation. This article summarises the GOV.UK page “Benefits: report a change in your circumstances”, plus GOV.UK pages on contacting Universal Credit, reporting changes to Child Benefit, Housing Benefit eligibility and HMRC’s Child Benefit enquiries page (published 14 May 2025 and last updated 19 December 2025). The main page describes the general rule for benefits administered from Great Britain. Northern Ireland has separate arrangements for some services, noted below. It is a summary of official guidance, not personal advice about any claim.

    Moving house is on the list

    The GOV.UK page states that changes need to be reported so a claimant keeps getting the right amount of benefits. The list of changes explicitly includes moving house, and also people moving into or out of the place a claimant lives, such as a partner, a child or a lodger. That second item matters for a household move, because the people in the new home may differ from those in the old one.

    What happens if a move is not reported

    According to GOV.UK, a claim might be stopped or reduced if a change is not reported straight away or if incorrect information is given. If a change or mistake is not reported, the claimant might be paid too much and might have to pay some of the money back, and might also have to pay a £50 penalty. The page adds that deliberately not reporting changes is benefit fraud.

    Who to tell depends on the benefit

    The page says who is told depends on which benefits are claimed, and that a claimant who gets more than one benefit must report to more than one organisation. The routes it lists are:

    • Universal Credit: through the Universal Credit online account, or by contacting the helpline.
    • Pension Credit: by calling the Pension Service helpline or reporting by post.
    • Attendance Allowance: through the Attendance Allowance helpline.
    • Disability Living Allowance and Personal Independence Payment: through the Disability Service Centre.
    • Carer’s Allowance: online or through the Carer’s Allowance Unit.
    • Housing Benefit: through the local council.
    • Child Benefit: through the Child Benefit online service, or by calling or writing to the Child Benefit Office.
    • All other benefits: by calling Jobcentre Plus, with a National Insurance number to hand.

    Universal Credit contact details

    GOV.UK’s contact page says Universal Credit can be contacted through the online account or by calling the helpline on 0800 328 5644, with a Welsh-language line on 0800 328 1744, Monday to Friday, 8am to 6pm. It states that people who live in Northern Ireland who want to use a helpline should contact the Universal Credit Service Centre instead. The Universal Credit guide also notes that people in Northern Ireland should use the separate Universal Credit in Northern Ireland guidance.

    Housing Benefit

    GOV.UK says Housing Benefit is being replaced by Universal Credit, and that a new claim can only be made if the claimant has reached State Pension age or is in supported, sheltered or temporary housing. It adds that if circumstances change and Housing Benefit stops, it cannot be restarted unless the claimant is eligible to make a new claim. For an existing Housing Benefit claimant, the page on reporting changes says to tell the local council.

    Child Benefit

    The page on reporting Child Benefit changes says only the person claiming can tell HMRC about a change of circumstances, and that failing to report may mean not getting all the money entitled or being overpaid and having to repay it. Its list of child-related changes includes children moving away from home for a period and moves to or from Northern Ireland. HMRC’s enquiries page says its digital assistant and app can help with a change of circumstances, and that personal details and address should be up to date in a personal tax account before ringing the helpline, or the call may fail telephone security.

    Timing a move around a claim

    • Note which benefits are claimed by each adult in the household, since each is reported separately.
    • Report the move using the route for each benefit as soon as the new address and move date are known.
    • Keep a record of when each report was made and any reference provided.
    • Keep the change-of-address checklist in view for non-benefit bodies; the wider list is in Change-of-Address Checklist: Who to Notify When You Move.

    Registering on the electoral roll and telling DVLA are separate steps, described in Moving House and the Electoral Register and After the Move: Telling DVLA or the DVA About Your New Address.

    The bottom line

    GOV.UK lists moving house among the changes a benefit claimant must report, warns that failure can stop or reduce a claim, lead to overpayments and a £50 penalty and treats deliberate non-reporting as fraud. Because each benefit has its own route, from the Universal Credit account to the local council for Housing Benefit and the Child Benefit online service, a household should list what it claims and report the move to each body straight away. Northern Ireland has its own Universal Credit service centre, and anyone unsure who pays a particular benefit should check the relevant GOV.UK page before the move.

    Sources

  • Moving Home and Your Water Bill: Meter Readings in England and Wales, Council Tax Billing in Scotland

    The bill that follows you to a new address

    Water is one of the utilities that changes hands on moving day, yet it is billed differently across Great Britain. This article summarises Citizens Advice pages on moving home and water bills and on water meters (the moving page carries a review date of 20 February 2020 and applies to England and, in an identical version, to Wales), the Consumer Council for Water (CCW) answer on which company supplies an area, and Scottish sources: Scottish Water’s “Your Charges 2025-2026” page and unmetered-charges FAQs, the Scottish Government’s water charging page and Citizens Advice Scotland’s guide to paying for water and sewerage. Northern Ireland is not covered.

    England and Wales: tell the company before you go

    Citizens Advice says a household needs to tell its water company when it plans to move, and where to, and to check the company’s website for how to do so. Where there is a water meter, the household should give the company at least five working days’ notice so a final meter reading can be arranged. Citizens Advice warns that without enough notice the household could be charged for water used after moving out. The same page applies to England and Wales.

    England and Wales: after the move

    If the new home is in an area served by a different water company, the household needs to tell that company, and the CCW points to Water UK’s postcode checker and to its list of water and sewerage company contact details for England and Wales. If the household stays with the same company, it needs to give its new address. When the new home has a water meter, Citizens Advice says to take a reading as soon as moving in, and adds that the meter cannot be removed on request.

    Sewerage may be supplied by a different company from the one that supplies the water. Citizens Advice explains that this could mean a separate bill, or that the water company may include sewerage charges on its bill on behalf of the sewerage company.

    Meters in a new home

    A separate Citizens Advice page says households have a right to be charged on the basis of what they use, which means a right to a meter installed free of charge unless that is impractical or unreasonably expensive, and that tenants can ask for a meter as well. It also says that where a meter cannot be fitted, the water company may be able to offer a cheaper tariff.

    Scotland: water is billed with council tax

    The Scottish Government states that the local authority bills and collects domestic water and sewerage charges along with Council Tax, and that the charges are linked to the council tax band. Scottish Water adds that most households are billed by their local authority in this way, on unmetered charges based on band. Citizens Advice Scotland explains that the council tax bill shows the extra amount charged for water, depending on the band, which the council collects and passes on to Scottish Water. Sewerage works in the same way unless the home has a private septic tank or is a mobile home.

    Scottish Water’s FAQs add that customers can have a domestic water meter fitted, in which case they are billed directly by Scottish Water instead of by the council. They say exemptions, such as for student occupancy or vacancy, are applied by local councils, and that when Scottish Water tells a council a charge needs to be added or removed it is the council that contacts the household about changes to the account. Council Tax Reduction can bring a reduction of up to 35% on the water and sewerage charges, applied automatically, according to Scottish Water and Citizens Advice Scotland.

    The council tax steps for a move are covered in Council Tax and Rates When You Move House: What Changes and Where.

    A simple timeline

    • Several weeks before: find out who supplies the new address and whether the home is metered.
    • At least five working days before leaving a metered home in England or Wales: give the water company the move date and new address so a final reading is arranged.
    • On the day: read the meter at the old address and again at the new one.
    • After moving: tell the new water company or the council, depending on the country, and take a first reading if the new home is metered.

    The wider list of who to notify is in Change-of-Address Checklist: Who to Notify When You Move, and gas and electricity meter readings are covered in Moving Home and Your Gas and Electricity: What Citizens Advice Says to Do in England.

    The bottom line

    In England and Wales, the household deals with its water company: notice of the move, at least five working days for a final meter reading where there is a meter, a new address or a new company afterwards and a first reading on arrival. Sewerage may come on a separate bill. In Scotland, unmetered water and sewerage sit on the council tax bill and are billed by the local council, while metered households are billed directly by Scottish Water. The Citizens Advice moving page carries a 2020 review date, so the company’s own website is the place to confirm current arrangements.

    Sources

  • Moving in Scotland: How Offers, Missives and Settlement Set the Date You Get the Keys

    A move date that is negotiated, not just announced

    In Scotland the date on which a buyer gets the keys is written into the offer and negotiated in a series of letters, so the reliability of a removal booking depends on where the sale has reached. This article summarises pages from mygov.scot, the Scottish Government’s public information service: “Making an offer”, “Missives”, “Conveyancing” and “Settlement” on the buying side, and “Closing date and offers” and “Conveyancing and settlement” on the selling side. It covers Scotland only. The English process, where exchange and completion do the equivalent job, is explained in Exchange vs Completion: The Legal Difference and Why It Matters for Booking Your Move.

    Step one: the offer names the moving-in date

    According to mygov.scot, a buyer who is interested in a home tells their solicitor, who formally notes the interest with the seller. If several people note interest, the seller may set a closing date, which is a deadline for written offers, usually sent to the seller’s solicitor even where an estate agent is used. An offer must be sent as a letter from the buyer’s solicitor and should include, among other things, the date the buyer wants to collect the keys and move in. On the selling side, mygov.scot says offers usually include conditions, which may include a moving-in date, items to be included in the price and technical conditions based on the Home Report. The seller does not have to accept the highest offer, or any offer.

    Step two: qualified acceptance and missives

    If the seller agrees to sell, their solicitor sends a “qualified acceptance”, which mygov.scot describes as accepting the offer subject to certain conditions. The two solicitors then exchange letters called missives to negotiate those conditions. Once both sides agree the terms, a concluding missive is written, and mygov.scot states that this is a binding contract between the parties. It warns buyers that pulling out of the deal after that point could make them liable to pay the seller thousands of pounds in damages, and says to be sure of wanting the home before asking a solicitor to start sending missives.

    For anyone planning a removal, the practical significance is that the agreed date is not settled until the terms, including the date, have been agreed in the missives. Because the offer’s date can be negotiated, a non-refundable removal deposit paid on the strength of an offer alone carries a risk.

    Step three: conveyancing

    After the missives are concluded, the solicitor starts conveyancing, the legal process that transfers ownership. For a buyer, mygov.scot lists checks that the seller actually owns the home, that there are no unusual conditions in the deeds, that any burdens or land-use obligations are understood and that any existing mortgage is paid off when the home transfers. For a seller, it says a mortgage must be repaid before anyone else can buy the home, and that the solicitor arranges the repayment.

    Step four: settlement and the date of entry

    The last step is settlement. mygov.scot says this is when the buyer gets possession of the home and that it usually happens on the agreed date of entry. On settlement the buyer’s solicitor confirms to the lender, if there is one, that the home is now in the buyer’s name, obtains the loan cheque and the buyer’s contribution, and in return for handing over the cheque receives the disposition (the document transferring ownership), the deeds and the keys. Shortly beforehand, the seller signs the disposition and arranges handing over the keys, according to mygov.scot’s selling pages.

    Because the solicitor receives the keys at settlement, a removal team relies on the solicitor for access to the new home. Delays on the day are covered in Completion Delayed on Moving Day: Waiting Time, Storage and Backup Plans.

    Insurance and taxes on the way

    mygov.scot says buyers should insure the home from conclusion of the missives to cover the risks, unless the missives say something different, and advises checking the missives with a solicitor. It also lists outlays payable at settlement, including fees to the Registers of Scotland, search fees and Land and Buildings Transaction Tax. The tax deadlines are covered in Buying a Home in Scotland or Wales: LBTT and Land Transaction Tax Return Deadlines Explained.

    A sequence for removal bookings

    • Ask for removal quotes while the offer is being negotiated, but hold off on a firm booking or deposit.
    • Once missives are concluded, ask the solicitor to confirm the date of entry in writing.
    • Book the removal firm for that date, with a flexible or refundable arrangement if one is offered; see When Should You Book a Removal Company If Your Moving Date Is Uncertain?
    • Agree with the solicitor how and when keys will be released, and plan a backup if settlement is delayed.

    The bottom line

    In Scotland, the moving date starts as a line in an offer, is negotiated through missives and becomes binding when the concluding missive is written. Settlement, the point at which the buyer gets the keys, usually happens on the agreed date of entry, and the solicitor controls the timing of the key release. A removal booking made before the missives are concluded is a booking on an unsettled date, so the sensible course is to price early and commit once the date of entry is confirmed in writing.

    Sources

  • Moving Out of a Rented Home in Wales: Occupation Contracts, Four Weeks’ Notice and Your Removal Date

    A different vocabulary and a different notice rule

    Anyone renting a home in Wales from a private landlord is normally a contract-holder under an occupation contract, not a tenant under a tenancy agreement. That changes how a move-out date is set, and it matters for booking a removal crew. This article summarises three Welsh Government pages: “Renting homes: frequently asked questions (tenants)”, last updated on 29 April 2026; “Tenants: housing law has changed (Renting Homes)”, last updated on 18 January 2023; and “Standard occupation contracts: guidance”, first published on 1 July 2022 and last updated on 1 August 2022. It covers Wales only. England is dealt with in Moving Out of a Rented Home in England: What the Renters’ Rights Act Changes About Notice and Your Move Date, and Scotland and Northern Ireland in Moving Home in Scotland and Moving Home in Northern Ireland.

    What changed in December 2022

    The Welsh Government says the Renting Homes (Wales) Act 2016 commenced on 1 December 2022 and that existing tenancy agreements converted to occupation contracts on that date. The new law gives more protection to tenants, now called contract-holders, requires a written contract, doubles the notice period for a rent increase from one month to two months and lengthens the notice a landlord must give before regaining possession. Most people who rent from a private landlord have a standard contract, which is either a fixed term standard contract or a periodic standard contract that rolls from one rental period to the next without an end date.

    How much notice a contract-holder gives

    The FAQ page answers the question directly: the notice period for a contract-holder who wants to end the contract is a minimum of four weeks. The standard contract guidance describes the same rule in its terms on contract-holder’s notice: a contract-holder can end the contract by giving the landlord four weeks’ notice. If the contract-holder leaves on or before the date specified in the notice, the contract ends on that date. If they stay after that date, the contract ends on the date they leave, or on a date fixed by a court if it makes an order for possession. If the notice is withdrawn and the landlord does not object, the contract does not end.

    The four-week period is a minimum. The written statement of the contract should be checked for how notice must be given, because landlords are not required to use the Welsh Government’s model written statement.

    Fixed term contracts

    The FAQ warns that a contract-holder will not normally be able to end a fixed term standard contract early. A fixed term contract that runs to its end date is different from a periodic contract, and the guidance notes that the ways of ending them differ.

    Joint contract-holders

    Where several people hold a contract, the guidance says they must all act together to end it. If one contract-holder does not agree to end the contract, it does not end. A joint contract-holder can withdraw from a contract by giving the landlord one month’s notice and providing the other joint contract-holders with a written warning, according to the guidance, which is separate from ending the whole contract. A household that is splitting should decide which route it is using before any removal booking is made.

    What must be done at the end

    The model terms set the contract-holder’s obligations at the end of the contract. The contract-holder must remove all property belonging to them and to anyone else they allowed to live there, return any property belonging to the landlord to where it was originally, and return all keys to the home. The landlord must repay any rent paid for a period after the contract ends. A removal plan should therefore include time for a final clear-out and a key return. The practical checklist is set out in End-of-Tenancy Moving Checklist: Cleaning, Inventory and Key Handover.

    If the landlord ends the contract

    The Welsh Government says that if a landlord wants a contract-holder to leave, the landlord must give a possession notice, and the notice period depends on the reason. For a periodic standard contract agreed on or after 1 December 2022, the FAQ says a landlord’s no-fault notice under section 173 must give at least six months, and cannot be issued within the first six months of the contract. The page adds that a landlord cannot issue a section 173 notice during a fixed term contract and must wait until the fixed term ends. The rules for contracts that converted from earlier tenancies are more complicated, and the FAQ recommends seeking advice on them.

    Practical steps for booking a removal

    • Read the written statement to confirm the contract type and its end or notice provisions.
    • Give the four-week notice in writing and keep proof of when the landlord received it.
    • Book the removal firm for a date on or before the notice date, and leave time to clear the property and return keys.
    • If the removal date is uncertain, use the flexible-booking questions in Cancelling or Rescheduling Your Removal Booking.

    The bottom line

    In Wales, a contract-holder ending a standard occupation contract gives at least four weeks’ notice, according to the Welsh Government’s FAQ updated on 29 April 2026, and a fixed term contract will not normally end early. Joint contract-holders act together unless one withdraws under the withdrawal terms. At the end, belongings go, landlord property stays and all keys are returned. Because a removal booking hangs on the move-out date, the sensible sequence is to settle the contract type and the notice date first, then book the crew. Contracts that converted from older tenancies can have different rules, so those should be checked with an adviser.

    Sources